Resting orders 

When the pace of life is magnified at this time of year, it takes its toll on all of us. I know people have the energy to enjoy family gatherings, to meet up with friends and invite guests to their home. I remember when dad and my late mum made Christmas special, memories like this cannot be taken away but today things have caught up with me and I know things will have to slow down. Time to recover is something all of us need.  

 Looking out of the window, thinking about Christmas when I was a child, thinking about those who will be alone. I remember singing the words below in a children’s choir. For us Christmas will be days to reflect, to think of others and appreciate belonging to a small family circle. The circle has been broken, I miss those who are gone and I know others will be feeling the same loss. A family is precious, treasure times when you can still meet as a complete family circle. 

Keep Christ in Christmas. Let him abide, amid all the tinsel and tinkling bells. Keep Christ in Christmas. Don’t spurn his grace. Your joy will increase. You’ll have sweet Christmas peace when Christ has first place.

Leave a Reply

